Restoration of the iconic Edwardian Muizenberg Railway Station is complete and to celebrate the event, photographer Evelyn Lyle snapped the team of restorers before they left the site.
A “then and now” postcard was produced and given to each worker, kindly sponsored by Antique Warehouse, Blue Bottle Liquors and Paddy Mow of Seeff Properties, all members of A Whale Of A Heritage Route.
The Muizenberg Railway Station building is 99 years old and its Centenary is celebrated on 7 June 1913.
072 930 4798
General information, accommodation and whale watching line: 079 391 2105
The Railway reached Muizenberg in 1882 with the train from Park Sation in Johannesburg arriving there directly via Salt River. The original standard government style station building was replaced by the beautiful Edwardian building in 1912/1913, in keeping with the building styles of what was then South Africa’s premier holiday resort – ‘theBrighton of South Africa’. The building was built by W Delbridge with rock quarried from Elsies Peak in Fish Hoek for the staircases and paving and dressed stone from Kalk Bay. The building was opened on the 7 June 1913 by the then Min of Transport, the Hon. Henry Burton.
(Info from an excerpt from Michael Walker’s Historical Annotation as published on the City of Cape Town website)