UNIVERSITY OF THE THIRD AGE FALSE BAY COURSE LIST – AUGUST 2014

U3A FALSE BAY GENERAL MEETINGS ARE HELD ON THE THIRD WEDNESDAY 09h30 for 10h00 AT FISH HOEK CIVIC CENTRE

August 20th David Steward “The Constitution – 16 Years After it came into Effect”

go to https://sites.google.com/site/u3afbay. For Cape Town, https://sites.google.com/site/u3actown and for the National website, https://sites.google.com/site/u3asafrica

Please contact Course Leaders for times and venues. Please wear your name tags to courses and meetings. New Courses and where entries have been changed are in embolded.

Course

Course Leader

Phone No.

Email

Week

Time

Area

MONDAY

 

Monday Bridge Group Paul Bolton/…………. Olivia Plowden

021 782 2506

psbolton@mweb.co.za plowden@telkomsa.net

every

09h30 to 11h30

Trafalgar Place, Fish Hoek

Pot Luck Lunch Club Cynthia Romain

021 782 6741

1st

12h30 for 13h00

Glencairn

PASSION Knitting Circle Jilla Benneyworth

021 794 6243

jillab@iafrica.com

Last

10h00

Constantia

Natural Sciences Maciej Soltynski

Maciej@telkomsa.net

2nd

10h30

Meadowridge Library

Flat Earth Walks Partridge Gardner

021 701 2929

partridge.gardner@lineone.net

Every

09h00

Cape Peninsula

Continuing to Write Elizabeth Gets

021 788 3368

egets@mweb.co.za

2nd

09h30 – 12h00

Muizenberg

Mountain Mondays Peter Gibbard

021 715 4553

gibbard@netactive.co.za

Every

08h00

Cape Peninsula

Creative Writing Group Eugenie Gunston

021 782 2345

egunston@telkomsa.net

1st & 3rd

09h45 – 12h00

Muizenberg

TUESDAY

 

Basic Digital Photography Lewis Walter / Reine Marais

021 782 1895 evening

lewiswalter@xsinet.co.za

By arrangement

Fish Hoek

Fun with Numbers Alison Kitto

021 787 0126

kitto@icon.co.za

1st

10h00

Noordhoek Manor

Spanish Conversation Farida Dollie

021 785 7507

Every

14h00

Capri Village

Couch Travellers Elfi Tomlinson

021 788 7842

elfitom@gmail.com

1st

15h00

Kalk Bay

Cookery Demonstrations Renee Campbell

021 788 6553

reneec@live.co.za

2nd

11h00 – 14h30

Marina da Gama

Historical Walks Helen Robinson

021 797 9600

wynberg@webafrica.org.za

3rd

10h00

Various

Non-Fiction Book Discussion Group Penny Boaden

021 785 4478

pboaden@mweb.co.za

3rd

10h00

Noordhoek

Beginners Astronomy – by appointment Wolf Lange

021 785 3713

wolflange@wol.co.za

1st, 3rd

A.M. & P.M.

Fish Hoek

Tai Chi – Beginners Illona Bradley

021 788 1262

Every

12h15 – 13h15

Meadowridge Library

Tai Chi – Intermediate Illona Bradley

021 788 1262

Every

13h15 – 14h15

Meadowridge Library

Tai Chi – Advanced Illona Bradley

021 788 1262

Every

14h30 – 15h30

Meadowridge Library

Italian Conversation Fiorella Park

021 785 1262

1st & 3rd

14h00

Sun Valley

Peninsula Mountain Wanderers Malcolm Boyle

021 788 9519

malcolmb@telkomsa.net

Every

07h30 / 08h30

Cape Peninsula

Wine Appreciation Ank & Brian Gowans

021 788 7731

bgowans@global.co.za

2nd

A.M.

Various

Flying Tortoises Norman Reynolds / Brian Moore

021 785 3593 / 021 782 3386

norgrey2013@gmail.com / jennyandbrian@telkomsa.net

Every

08h00

Cape Peninsula

Cape Mountains for the Adventurous Tony Heher

021 794 5730

tony.heher@gmail.com

Every

Varies

Cape Peninsula

WEDNESDAY

 

Sunshine Walking Group Walter Behr

w.a.behr@gmail.com

Every

09h00 most weeks

Cape Peninsula

Click on link to visit site

Beginners Bridge Gerald Jeftha

021 786 4540

gjeftha@yahoo.co.uk

Every

13h30

Fish Hoek

Cook & Eat Lunch Club Partridge Gardner

021 701 2929

partridge.gardner@lineone.net

2nd

11h30 – 14h30

Lakeside

Muizenberg Memoir Group Cynthia MacPherson

021 788 5642

rodcynthia@webafrica.org.za

1st

10h00 – 12h00

Muizenberg

Writing for Fun Workshops Cynthia MacPherson

021 788 5642

rodcynthia@webafrica.org.za

2nd

10h00 – 12h00

Muizenberg ( Joan St Leger Retirement Hotel)

Wine Appreciation – WAG3 Rentia Hildebrand

021 794 3431

rehildebrand@yahoo.co.uk

2nd

A.M.

Various Wine Farms

Creative Writing Projects Jo Boyle

021 788 9519

jo.boyle5@gmail.com

4th

09h30

Muizenberg

Hiking for the Moderately Fit Early Birds Francis Boulle

021 799 7201

franjuneb@isat.co.za

Every

Early starts

Various

Fynbos Rambles – Nature Walks Sheila Robinson

021 782 0773

sheijohn@telkomsa.net

Every

09h30

Various

Pleasures of Music Peter Joubert

021 788 1310

tonipeter@telkomsa.net

2nd, 4th

10h00 – 12h00

Marina da Gama

THURSDAY

 

Rambling Rose Rosemary Paul

021 801 7030

rosepaul8@yahoo.co.uk

Every

09h00

Various

CAMEO (Come and Meet Each Other) Group Doreen Maree / Penny Thornewill

021 701 4071 / 021 797 8551

doreenm@iburst.co.za / jempen@mweb.co.za

1st

Varies

Various

An Afternoon of Opera &/or Ballet Renee Penso

021 787 0316

Monthly

14h00 – 17h00

Fish Hoek

Bird-watching for Beginners – Part 2. (Only for those who’ve completed Part 1). Heather Howell

021 788 1574

howellh@telkomsa.net

3rd

A.M.

Lakeside

Chess for Beginners Wolf Lange

021 785 3713

wl123@telkomsa.net

Every

14h00 onwards

Fish Hoek

Line & Folk Dancing Elfi Tomlinson

021 788 7842

elfitom@gmail.com

Every

15h00 – 16h00

Kalk Bay Community Centre

Sharing Poetry – your own or a favourite Cynthia Romain

021 782 6741

Last

14h30

Glencairn

Tai Chi – Beginners Illona Bradley

021 788 1262

Every

08h45 – 09h45

Fish Hoek Activity Hall

Tai Chi – Advanced Illona Bradley

021 788 1262

Every

11h30 – 12h30

Fish Hoek Activity Hall

FRIDAY

 

Writing for Activism and Publication Geri Goldblatt

021 709 0853

ger.ggoldblatt@gmail.com

1st

10h00

Marina da Gama

Songololo Stompers Hiking Group – moderate dog friendly walks of 3 – 4 hours Arthur and Frances Smith

021 782 4228

atsmith0001@gmail.com

Every

08h00 /09h00 – 12h00

Cape Peninsula

Slowly Up The Hills Walking Group Peter Rickards / Nancy Murray

021 788 9469 / 021 783 3233

peteric@telkomsa.net / nanmur@telkomsa.net

Every

09h00

Cape Peninsula

The World of Ballet Dennis Davey

021 712 1314

profdad@eject.co.za

2nd

09h15

Bergvliet

The World of Opera Dennis Davey

021 712 1314

profdad@eject.co.za

1st & 4th

09h15

Bergvliet

Classic Drama Series Paul & Aroon Spencer

021 761 6121

spinks@thespencers.co.za

1st & 3rd

09h30 – 12h00

Constantia Place

Mountain Meanders – Mountain hiking for the reasonably fit Tim Cronin

021 715 5380

tim@croninsa.co.za

Every

Varies

Cape Peninsula

Lunch Club Jenny Knapp

021 788 1239

knapp@ananzi.co.za

3rd

12h00 – 12h30

Cape Peninsula

 

Wacky Walkers – 4 to 5 hour moderate hikes

Fi Skennerton / Suzanne Wilson-Smith

021 785 4175 021 789 0136

fi-fishhoek@mweb.co.za wilsonsmith@yebo.co.za

Every

09h00

Cape Peninsula

SATURDAY
Chamber Music Ensemble John Fritz

021 788 9744

rjf1@mweb.co.za

2nd & 4th

10h00 – 12-noon

Oranjezicht

Deutscher Klub Elfi Tomlinson

021 788 7842

elfitom@gmail.com

2nd

10h00 – 12h00

Kalk Bay

Moonshine Walking Group Walter Behr

078 759 4524

w.a.behr@gmail.com

Every month

Sunset

Various

 

SUNDAY

 

Spanish Conversation for Beginners Dita Bullen

021 786 3852

By arrangement

Simon’s Town

HIKING GROUPS – For further information on the hiking groups, go to u3aCTwalking@googlegroups.com &/or https://sites.google.com/site/u3actwalking/home/news.
U3A FALSE BAY COMMITTEE
Chairman : Peter Rickards 021 788 9469 peteric@telkomsa.net
 

Secretary :

Rose Morris 021 786 1765 rosmor@mweb.co.za
 

General Meeting Secretary :

Shirley Ross 021 788 7014
 

Treasurer :

Ann Buys 021 715 5606 annbuys@gmail.com
 

Membership Secretary :

Mary Shears 021 782 5222 shears@telkomsa.net
 

Speaker Seeker :

Mary-Ann Nuis 021 783 0045 maryann@tmn.co.za
Course Coordinator Norman Reynolds 021 785 3593 norgrey2013@gmail.com
 

Email Officer :

Elfi Tomlinson 021 788 7842 elfitom@gmail.com
 

Media Liaison :

Arthur Smith 021 782 4228 atsmith0001@gmail.com